Lessons In Hospitality From Waffle House…

Southern Hospitality: Showing graciousness, kindness, and warmth to others. Behavior that is selfless, compassionate, and kind.

My family and I just moved to Nashville about a month ago from Southern California, Riverside, CA to be exact.

Both my wife and I were born and raised in Southern California.  So moving to the South has been somewhat of a culture shock for us.

People are genuinely nice out here.  Southern hospitality is an actual thing and it’s tangible at that.

For example; my family and I went to the Waffle House for breakfast this morning and I will say we experienced southern hospitality at it’s finest.

Our waitress greeted us with a hearty, “Good mornin’ y’all, what can I get you this morning?”

Throughout our visit she made sure to ask us regularly if we needed anything, had lot’s of interaction with our boy’s, and made sure when we left to say, “Thank you” and that she look forward to seeing us again.

While I know all this is a part of her job the thing is, she did it with a sincere attitude not a forced, I have to be here and this is what they want me to do, type attitude.  Which is sadly the type of attitude we are used to experiencing in our home state.

The one thing that kept running through my mind is this idea of follow through though.

Our waitress followed through with her hospitality from the minute we walked through that door until the minute we walked out.

Man what a great concept and practice for us in the church to put into play; follow through.  Especially when it comes to 1st impressions.

Imagine a 1st time visitor walking into Cross Point and having the same type of hospitable experience like my family and I did this morning.  Then in return they go and tell all their friends about it, just like I’m doing right now.

Word of mouth is some of the best advertisement you can get!

I love this verse in the book of Hebrews and I think it should be one of the driving forces behind our approach to 1st Impressions:

“Don’t forget to show hospitality to strangers, for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it!” Hebrews 13:2 (NLT)

This entry was posted in Church.

Leave a Reply

