Big Leagued…

Big Leagued; verb: The act of considering someone or something so trivial or insignificant that one refuses to acknowledge its presence or existence; the state of being ‘better than.’

Have you ever been big leagued?

I’m going to be honest here and say that this is one of my biggest pet peeves, being big leagued!  Especially when I see it happen in the church, let alone when it happens to me personally.

I understand that we are busy people, with busy schedules, and sometimes we may big league someone unintentionally.  But man it really frustrates me when I see someone do it intentionally.

Scripture even has something to say about the topic of big leaguing.  Check out what it says in the first couple of verses of chapter two in the book of James:

“My dear brothers and sisters, how can you claim to have faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ if you favor some people over others?”

“For example, suppose someone comes into your meeting dressed in fancy clothes and expensive jewelry, and another comes in who is poor and dressed in dirty clothes.  If you give special attention and a good seat to the rich person, but you say to the poor one, “You can stand over there, or else sit on the floor”—well, doesn’t this discrimination show that your judgments are guided by evil motives?”  James 2:1-4 (NLT)

You want to make sure people don’t come back to your church after their first visit, big league them!!!

Bad attitudes, egos, and arrogance are all the characteristics of a good big leaguer and these are all the exact opposite characteristics of a good 1st impression.

If you drop down a couple of verses in chapter two James gives us some solid advice when it comes to 1st impressions.  He writes:

“Love your neighbor as yourself.” James 2:8 (NLT)

If you wouldn’t big league yourself, why do it to others?

So like I said in my last blog:

“Put a smile on your face, shake a hand, and help someone feel welcome and wanted.  Help them feel like they belong at Cross Point.

Welcome them home!

This entry was posted in Church.

2 comments on “Big Leagued…

  1. Kristil says:

    Danny, you are so right! One of the things that gave me the courage and motivation to return to Cross Point after my first visit was the way the greeters embraced me as though I was a long lost family member. It had been over 30 years since I was at church, scared to death and I walked away feeling that not only did God want me back but so did the people at Cross Point. It felt genuine in their welcoming. Had that not happened I may not have returned.

    I think one thing we all need to remember while we are greeting, whether in the cafe, holding open doors or handing out programs, is to speak to and smile at people, especially ones you don’t know. It’s great to chat with your fellow volunteers, but you may be instrumental in someone returning to church and drawing closer to God. That smile and welcome could change someone’s life!
    Kristil

  2. […] Danny talked about what happens when people try to Big League. […]

Leave a comment